Not Just Another Turn in the Road…

I’ve recently experienced a significant change in my life and as such must change the direction I am headed. Between economic situations and an ever changing working environment, change can be a surprise that reminds us of the paths our lives have taken and the roads less traveled to get there. After ten and a half years of doing the job I’ve enjoyed most of all, I have been handed my walking papers and must begin a search for new employment. Having spent some time looking through job descriptions, it didn’t take me long to be reminded that I got as far as I did with only an associates degree.

Now that I sort through job descriptions that most closely match what I’ve done and where I am headed, I am faced with a new track to race with a totally different finish line to reach.  Not only am I in search for a new job, but I am leaving the race track behind. It’s time I headed back to earn my bachelors degree and added professional value to myself.

Since I am by no means independently wealthy, the continued education will be on a part time basis and I wont be returning to the track before I complete this goal. Since the loss of my job was such a surprise I must admit I was totally unprepared to submit a portfolio-demo reel, had left some of my professional software skills unattended for some time, as well as not been mentally prepared to take on what could prove to be the most challenging job market ever facing an American in a century.

This leaves me to do what I can with what I have (and will not need) like selling off my racing gear and bike(s), etc… No need to find out how long the battery will last in the transponder since I do not expect to be back on the track for years to come. Besides, it looks like I could use the money.

Perhaps some day after graduation I’ll have a bit of security in a job I’m comfortable with and will be able to join my friends tearing up the tracks with the good old reliable 335cc Honda motorcycles that were built and sold in my formative years. Until then, I’ll have to race vicariously through exploits of the many friends I’ve made through WERA, AHRMA, and other sources where I’ve met fellow vintage motorcycle racers.

I’ve had a great run and a life-time’s worth of therapy that I can always come back and re-read when necessary.

Many, many thanks to Mr. Martin Mattes, my sponsor at Sirius Consolidated Incorporated for years of support, guidance, and a lasting friendship. I will continue to encourage all motorcycle enthusiasts to shop at his online store for ALL of their power sports needs. I still find it amazing how much stuff SCI carries for vintage motorcycles and they have even more stuff for modern bikes and riders, not to mention snowmobiles, boats, jet skis, etc…

Martin has given me something to look forward to by letting me know that when I do get back into my “double digit” racing mode again, he’d be happy to sponsor me again, then. Thank you, Martin.

To all those I’ve raced with and spent so many weekends bonding with, I salute you one and all. I wish to give a very special note of appreciation to Mr. Keith Bennett, my race partner since 2005 when we first started racing on my Norton 750 Commando. To the volunteers that work the race track corners, keeping racers safe at their own peril, both kisses and salutes to you. To all the professionals at WERA who have made it possible for a racer like me, on a shoe string budget, to run around on the same tracks, and on the same days, as the guys with the big bikes and big budgets, I thank you all.

And most of all to my wife, the love of my life, thank you for not forsaking me this unique form of pleasure that I’ve shared with my friends at such an intense level. It has truly been a pleasure that someday I hope to experience again. And if not, then I’ve had a great run, with great people, for a long time now.

Ride on my friends!

 

About videojackster

A freedom loving libertarian who really enjoys experiencing that freedom on a motorcycle, on the race track, as often as possible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Not Just Another Turn in the Road…

  1. Wendy says:

    Say it ain’t so. Never thought you would hang it up.

  2. John says:

    I’m sure Jack will be back.

  3. Maria Rodeghiero says:

    Bro, you are a man of great character to make this change and face the future with such conviction and faith! You are going to be fine! Keep us in the loop!

    Maria

Leave a Reply

