WHAT ARE FRIENDS FOR?

Admissions of admiration about Japanese motorcycles are not many nor often coming from riders who claim their origins from British machines. But after about 2,000 miles on the 1987 (23 year old) Kawasaki Ninja 250, to and from work, I find myself giving my testimony for a bike with 20,XXX miles.

 

While enjoying hi tech vintage technology I found myself in jeopardy. Starting with a slight, speed related, crunching grind of the drive train, I began to consider adding a new chain, and probably sprockets to the list of parts worthy of the recently resurrected bike. A new POR-15 lining to the tank. Rebuild kits from Sirius Consolidated Incorporated, fresh battery, and a new Pirelli MT75 rear tire and the old bike was new for $500 purchase price and less than $200 in parts.

 

As the grind of the weakening chain became more apparent, I realized that I probably had a sealed brand new chain in my race bike parts. I also had to admit that I wondered just how cool this bike could be with a smoother ride. While sitting at the decisive turn I transited every day, I glimpsed my chain and was blessed with a perfect view of only a partial master link on the drive chain.

 

No telling just how long the circlip and removable plate had been missing, but I decided to turn left, toward home, and tell Keith about it at least by the weekend. Two miles later, I stopped at the intersection of Rock Springs and Old Peachtree. The master link had drifted out a bit. So, I gave one last squeeze and let out the clutch. DISCONNECTION. The game was over.

 

Called around and family was not available without interruption. Having turned left at the decisive intersection, I decided to call my buddy that lived about a mile to the right. Keith jumped at the chance to make his second rescue in as many years. After the one discrepancy was cleared up (Old Peachtree and Rock Springs roads have two intersection points.) Keith showed up with truck, ramp and tie downs. Kudos the couple that graciously allowed Keith on their lawn to back into the hill along the road. I pushed it up manually on my own, before Keith knew I was in the truck. He was preoccupied cleaning the bed for my bike.

 

New Castles made the rest of the trip, unloading the bike, and hunting for blackberries cool and refreshing. I also did have a 17mm box end wrench to help Keith with his delayed valve and cam chain adjustment. But then again, what are friends for?

 

And come this Saturday, at Road Atlanta Raceway, we will both be working our butts off to finish in front of the other. Stay tuned. Perhaps a video is to follow???

About videojackster

A freedom loving libertarian who really enjoys experiencing that freedom on a motorcycle, on the race track, as often as possible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

